Not Being More Productive at Home

prod 3I take pride in my job.  I like it, I think I’m good at it and I work hard at it.  I can be highly productive at work.  I know how to prioritize and I make daily lists of things that need to get done.  I do not allow myself to leave until the list gets completed or, through no fault of trying, can’t be completed.  I am efficient, and I make the best use of my time.  This is why I think I’m good at my job.  When a person’s productivity is high and their output is decent, they are a good worker and they will be happy at their job.

prod 1I am not always overly busy at work, but being busy doesn’t necessarily makes you productive.  You can be busy and be highly disorganized.  In this case, the reason you’re busy is because your disorganization causes you to constantly revert back and forth between projects without ever actually finishing one.  If a person is productive, then there will be times when they can afford to rest a bit, and they won’t be too busy.

Unfortunately none of this productivity carries over to my home.  It’s like night and day with me.  At work I am organized, efficient and energetic.  At home I am haphazard, sluggish and a mess.  When I return from my productive day at work, I no longer want to be productive.  I know there are things to do, but I choose not to do them.  Most of the time I just forget that there’s something I need to do.  If you read yesterday’s post about not having a dryer, you’ll know that I have to stagger my laundry loads…well, I’ve been home for about 90 minutes now, and I just remembered that I have to do another load of laundry!

prod 2I have read the 8 habits of highly productive people, and it has become my mantra at work.  I just simply can not adhere to it at home.  Sitting here now, writing this blog, I can remember about 5 things I was supposed to do today that I didn’t do.  The reason that there are some days without a post here is because I just forget, and by the time I remember, it’s too late and I’m ready for sleep.  I forget to take things in the morning.  I have very often forgotten my watch or my keys and had to rely on others for help during the day.  Those incidents I hate, because my inefficiency at home has now encroached on my efficiency at work.  When there’s a crossover like that, I have to think it’s time to change.

The only problem is, I don’t know how to change.  There’s no Microsoft Outlook for life!  It helps at work to keep track of my time, and the ability to red-flag things is brilliant, but I don’t have that at home.  I suppose I could write myself notes in the morning before I leave so I will see them when I return home in the evening, but I’ll just forget to look at them or ignore what they say.  The inefficiency and lack of productivity at home really has a negative effect on my homelife and my personal life.  I can’t tell you how many times I have made appointments only to forget about them and be awakened on a Saturday morning by the doorbell, or how many times I have ordered food for delivery (here in Singapore it takes, like, 2 hours for it to be delivered) only to forget and order more food an hour later.  It has become a real problem!  A bigger problem is that I don’t know how to fix it.

Right now I should be packing for a trip to the States, but I haven’t unpacked from the last trip yet because I’m waiting for the laundry on the drying rack to dry so I can put the dirty laundry that’s in the suitcase into the washing machine.  Then I’ll be able to pack the suitcase!  I will also need some of the clothing that I will be washing after I publish this post…ugh…I guess I can always pack tomorrow night, the flight doesn’t leave until 6AM on Saturday morning!

Leave a Reply

