Being Weight-Obsessed

scale 1As some of you may know, I’ve been dieting.  I’m doing rather well, and have lost about 16 kilos (35 pounds) so far.  This happens, though, when I diet.  I usually lose weight quickly, and then become bored with it, or have a rash of “eating out” nights and it goes right back on.  Well, for this one, I’ve been going about 3 months now (longer than ever before), so I’m actually more interested than usual.

One thing that invariably comes with my losing weight is the obsession I have with the bathroom scale.  I check my weight several times a day to watch the fluctuation as I eat, and I check each morning right after the shower to make sure I have either lost weight since yesterday or, at the very least, remained the same.  The other day, I went up 200 grams (about 1/2 a pound) after a larger than usual evening meal with friends, and I nearly had a cardiac arrest.  I know it’s obsessive, but I can’t stop.  I have this unnatural compulsion to check the scale constantly.  I even feel it now, as I’m planning to have lunch.  I want to see my weight before, and after lunch to see how much it’s changed.  I’m insane!!  I knew this would happen when I started this new plan of eating and being healthy, which is why I didn’t want to buy a scale!  I succumbed to the temptation and now I have to live with my compulsion!!

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

