Whatever Happened to Saturday Morning TV!?

This morning, I was up kind of early.  I decided to take in some Saturday morning television, like I used to when I was a kid.  Actually, when I was a kid, I would wake up early on purpose just so I wouldn’t miss anything.  From 8AM to noon every Saturday, I was set in front of the television watching cartoons and comedy, and loving every minute of it.  There were fantasy, super hero, cutesy and comedy shows that were designed to entertain kids….and sell products.  Let’s not forget the thousands of products that were hawked on Saturday morning while the kids watched their shows (and that was just in the programs – the commercials were even more pushy).  So, today, I went to my television to watch Saturday morning TV.  In Singapore, I’m guessing that Saturday morning TV is kind of different, but I couldn’t find one cartoon show.  Everything was lives action, and everything had a message.  All the programs I was able to find were meant to educate children while they entertained them.  I hear it’s the same in the US.  What has happened to good, old fun!??!  This is Saturday morning, kids need a break from education!!  Give them something cheesy and funny, not overly educational!  Put the education on during the commercial breaks like they used to do with Schoolhouse Rock and The More You Know when I was a kid!  I was disappointed, and, after about 45 minutes, decided to go back to bed.  Where has it all gone?!?

So, in tribute to my childhood and GOOD Saturday morning fun, I give you the 1980s Saturday morning quiz.  Let’s see how many you can remember!!  Get a pen and paper, because here we go:

Number 1

Number 1

Number 2

Number 2

Number 3

Number 3

Number 4

Number 4

Number 5

Number 5

Number 6

Number 6

Number 7

Number 7

Number 8

Number 8

Number 9

Number 9

Number 10

Number 10

Number 11

Number 11

Number 12

Number 12

Number 13

Number 13

Number 15

Number 14

Number 15

Number 15

Number 16

Number 16

Number 17

Number 17

Number 18

Number 18

Number 19

Number 19

Number 20

Number 20

Number 21

Number 21

Number 22

Number 22

Number 23

Number 23

Number 24

Number 24

Number 25

Number 25

Number 26

Number 26

Number 27

Number 27

Number 29

Number 28

Number 30

Number 29

Number 31

Number 30

Number 32

Number 31

Number 33

Number 32

Number 34

Number 33

Number 35

Number 34

Number 35

Number 35

Ok, let’s see how you did!

  1. Garfield and Friends
  2. The Archies
  3. Spiderman and Friends
  4. The Getalong Gang
  5. The Care Bears
  6. Thunder Cats
  7. Pac-Man and Friends
  8. Josie and the Pussycats
  9. Goldy Gold and Action Jack
  10. Alvin and the Chipmunks
  11. Dungeons and Dragons
  12. The Smurfs
  13. Challenge of the Superfriends
  14. The Centurions
  15. Thundarr the Barbarian
  16. Fat Albert
  17. Muppet Babies
  18. The Real Ghostbusters
  19. The Fonz and the Happy Days Gang
  20. The Snorks
  21. The Fantastic Four
  22. Disney’s The Adventures of the Gummi Bears
  23. Scooby Doo, Where are You?
  24. Monchichi
  25. Shazam
  26. Challenge of the Gobots
  27. Droids: The Adventures of R2D2 and C3PO
  28. Heathcliff and Friends
  29. Pee Wee’s Playhouse
  30. Shirt Tales
  31. The Herculoids
  32. Pound Puppies
  33. Hanna Barbera’s Laff-A-Lympics
  34. Jem and the Holograms
  35. The Transformers

Most of my information I got from the following website (which brought back great memories and hours of YouTubery): http://www.inthe80s.com/saturdays.shtml.

I hope you enjoyed the trip down memory lane…..all of the above have at least one clip on YouTube, so enjoy the afternoon with some Saturday morning!!  Apparently, it’s the only place you can get it anymore!

 

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

