When You Can’t Remember the Word for Something

My friend Stephanie just got married.  I’ve been looking at her photos on Facebook.  She’s gorgeous.  Anyway, she decided to make her bouquet out of silver and gem broaches.  It was amazing, and she gets a lot of applause and respect for doing such an awesome job (photo below).  To get to the point (haha….point….broach….it’s a pun!) of this post….I was telling someone at work about this cool idea and how she should do it for her wedding, but when I got to the part about the bouquet, I could not, for the life of me, remember the word “broach.”  I tried to describe them as gem pins, silver pins, I think I even said brioche at one point (no, it’s not made of sweet bread).  It took about a minute of my describing the thing before my colleague finally burst out “broach.”  I felt like I was on an episode of the $60,000 Pyramid!  Tell Chuck Woolery that I’m ready!  I felt like an idiot.

Absolutely amazing!

Absolutely amazing!

This happens to me a lot lately.  Pretty basic words escape me.  I know I know them, and I can actually “feel” them lurking just beyond my speech, but I can’t summon them.  It’s like extreme tip-of-my-tongue action.  More and more I find myself lost for words.  Sometimes I can even remember the word in Italian or Spanish, but the English escapes me.  Maybe this is that memory loss thing that my father tells me about.  I’m still good with remembering names and faces, and appointments I never forget, but normal, every-day words get lost.  It’s really getting….um….oh, what’s the word….annoying!  Yea, that’s it!

Leave a Reply

