Elevators that Go Too Slowly

Ok, readers, today is going to be a short one because I’m short on time, and there really isn’t much to be said about this annoyance.  I don’t think there’s anyone out there who isn’t annoyed by slow elevators.

First off, when you’re waiting for the elevator, and it’s only 2-3 floors above you, you get excited that it’s coming soon.  It’s a horrible let down when it still takes several minutes to get to your floor.  You wait and you wait, sometimes while carrying heavy things, for an elevator that seemingly takes forever.  I’m lucky in my apartment building, because my elevator is very fast.  Traveling from the 1st to the 20th floor would be hell on a slow elevator.  It’s also very quick to pick up…..I’ve never had to wait more than 2 minutes.  At my work, however, we have an elevator that only goes between the 1st and 4th floors.  It takes longer for that elevator to travel from the 2nd to the 1st floor to pick me up than it takes my elevator at home to travel from 20 to 1.  I don’t know what is wrong with it.  There’s never anyone on it, so it couldn’t be that it’s ferrying people from one floor to the other.  I have seen this phenomenon before, mainly in older buildings with aging elevators.  Many of the more “quaint” hotels I stayed in when I was in Europe had slow, older elevators.  It’s a pain in the rear when you’re tired and just want to go to sleep…..but have to wait 5 minutes for the elevator to go from the 3rd to the 1st floor to get you.

When you’re traveling in a slow elevator, it’s even more excruciating.  You’re finally in, you’re on your way, and you’re moving at a snail’s pace.  It’s like being stuck in traffic after just waiting 20 minutes for a taxi cab.  The ride takes forever and you never think you will ever get there.  I have had this experience too many times to count, and it just gets under my skin!  Anyone feel the same?

2 Comments

  1. Why don’t you just take the stairs? If taking the stairs a few flights is too much for your body, shouldn’t you be grateful that you have an elevator to help you? It would be great if every place was accessible to those with physical disabilities, but I’ve lived and worked plenty of places where where that was not the case.

  2. Yes, unfortunately, I can not go up or down stairs, so elevators are the only way I can get around. If I’m faced with a building without stairs, it’s an agonizing and slow process for me to get up and down those stairs. I agree with you about all places being accessible to people with physical disabilities, however, that’s why there’s a law in the US.

Leave a Reply

